1 Year and 10 Days

I’ve been terribly inept and neglectful lately due to ongoing work but am going to try and post more regularly from now on.  Worst of all I’ve even missed commemorating the 1st birthday of Scared Sheepless by 10 days.  So this post will just be a little catch-up type of deal then I can sort some more (hopefully interesting) stuff out for the next few weeks.

Scared Sheepless came directly from my starting to write horror film reviews for AllHorror.net, where I realised that I didn’t just like writing about the films themselves, but rather those things around it.  A huge thanks first off to Robin and Julie for being so awesome and not only giving me the opportunity to write for such a great site, but also for recommending Martyrs – a film that still hasn’t left my head.  I’ve always had really great responses from people who’ve read the reviews, even if they disagree with what I’ve said, people have always been polite.

So about a year or so ago I was in a little market stall and saw a possessed Regan in bed that had sound and movement and I realised that was the sort of wonderful thing I wanted to write about.  Coupled with this is the fact that The Exorcist is one of my favourite films ever (and a fair candidate, I think, for one of the best films ever made) and I came back to find out more about the merchandise and Merchandise Monday was born.

Following on from this I was able to attend my first film festival – Abertoir in Aberystwyth.  I don’t think I’ve ever seen so many films in such a short amount of time.  The Abertoir organisers are great and really do find and showcase some gems.  Also met some other wonderful film fans who I’d been able to speak to a little bit on Twitter, but nothing bonds a group of people like heavy drinking at Inn on the Pier.  Look out for Moore and Roberts too who are currently doing some great audio/visual reviews.  Looking forward to going back again this year to see what will be showcased and hopefully getting some reviewing done.  One of the best things to happen as a result of Abertoir and AllHorror was that my review of Some Guy Who Kills People was used in a press piece for Newcastle Cinema…the finished piece is still one of the coolest things I’ve ever seen and I can’t quite believe its my words on there.

Also huge thanks to authors like Jake Bannerman and Julianne Snow (and Sirens Call Publications as a whole) for being so accomodating and being interviewed and doing guest posts for the blog.  I’m pleased to say that I’ve yet to encounter anyone unpleasant or difficult in my time of writing stuff, so long may that continue.  So with that said, I’m hoping to get back into the blogging and try and include more opinion type pieces.  Thanks to everyone who has read or retweeted my reviews or blog entries, it means a lot.  Now on to year 2!

Leave a Reply

